Little St. George Island Beach
Little St. George Island lies just to the west of St. George Island. This three square mile island was once part of its larger brother until the mid 1950s when the U.S. Army Corp of Engineers cut a permanent pass through the western end of St. George Island to assist vessel navigation. Today, Little St. George Island is owned by the State of Florida, managed by the Department of Environmental Protection and operated as the Cape St. George State Reserve. The reserve’s remoteness and wilderness provides visitors a unique opportunity to explore a remnant of Florida’ original barrier island landscape. The island is accessible only by boat.
Little St. George Island is the site of the area’s first two lighthouses, built in the early 1800s to help early mariners navigate area waters. Powerful storms and erosion destroyed the first two early lighthouses and a third was constructed in 1852 where it stood until 2005 when years of storm and wave action finally toppled into the Gulf. Pieces of the original lighthouse were recovered by area history enthusiasts and a replica of the original lighthouse was completed in 2006 where it stands today along with a museum depicting island history.